Beth Doria Receives the 2019 ICAT Deborah Sawyer Diversity Award

Beth Doria is the 2019 ICAT Deborah Sawyer Diversity Award winner. Beth was recognized for unwavering commitment to women and diverse businesses.

“I’m honored and humbled to receive the Deborah Sawyer Diversity Award. Those that were privileged to know Deborah Sawyer knew she was a fierce fighter who was dedicated to eliminating the biases and inequities that exist for women and minorities,” said Doria.

Beth Doria

Innovations in Construction, Asphalt, and Transportation (ICAT) and Environmental Design International inc. (EDI) established this award in 2017 in honor of EDI’s late founder and CEO, Deborah. M. Sawyer. The Deborah Sawyer Diversity Award is given to a certified MBE/WBE/DBE, veteran business owner, or advocacy organization with a track record of supporting minorities, women, or veterans, or corporate champion committed to making a positive impact on MBE/WBE/DBE entrepreneurs.

“We have firsthand knowledge of Beth’s unwavering commitment to women and diverse businesses,” said Leslie Sawyer, EDI’s President and CEO. “Every step of the way, she’s been out in front fighting for women and minority construction and engineering businesses in Illinois.”

Ms. Doria is President/CEO of Alliance Associates, Inc., and has served as Executive Director of the Federation of Women Contractors (FWC) since 2003. In these roles, Beth has been a tireless advocate for the opportunities and rights of women- and minority-owned business owners.

Most notable is her work on the federal level to increase the U.S. Dept. of Transportation’s Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) program limits on the calculation of personal net worth (PNW). The long-overdue adjustment is a critical step in removing barriers for DBE vendors to obtain much needed bonding and access to capital to sustain and grow their businesses.

Prior to starting Alliance Associates in 2003, Ms. Doria served as the state’s Women’s Business Advocate within the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity. She is active in several community and advocacy organizations, and has served on the Illinois Tollway Strategic Advisory Team, the Illinois Tollway Diversity Advisory Council, the Illinois Dept. of Transportation’s Disparity Study Advisory Committee, and the Mayor’s Supplier Diversity Initiative.

Past ICAT Deborah Sawyer Diversity Award winners include Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle, and Cheryl Thomas from Ardmore-Roderick.